You are here

The Joint Africa-EU Strategy (JAES), which provides the overarching long-term framework for Africa-EU relations, is implemented through jointly identified priorities. These are of common interest to both the EU and Africa, and significantly impact the daily lives of citizens on both continents.

Within each area of cooperation, the focus is on actions at the global, continental or transregional levels, and where participating actors have a collective capacity to deliver. Three successive action plans have already been adopted and implemented since 2007.

During the 5th AU-EU Summit that took place on 29-30 November 2017 in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire, EU and African leaders adopted a joint declaration outlining four joint priority areas for actions from 2018 onwards:




Previously, at the 4th EU-Africa Summit in Brussels, African and European Heads of State and Government adopted the Roadmap 2014-2017. The implementation of the Joint Strategy focused on five priority areas. Moreover, it was agreed to improve political dialogue and cooperation, as well as to promote contributions from the private sector and civil society. The First Action Plan (2008-2010) and the Second Action Plan (2011-2013) of the Joint Africa-EU Strategy focused on eight priority areas of cooperation; these have now been narrowed down with the aim of following a more focused agenda.



Read more about the partnership