You are here

The Joint Africa-EU Strategy, which provides the overarching long-term framework for Africa-EU relations, is implemented through jointly identified priorities, which are of common interest to both the EU and Africa, and significantly impact on the daily lives of citizens on both continents. Within each area of cooperation, the focus is on actions at the global, continental or cross regional levels and in which participating actors have a collective capacity to deliver. 

At the 4th EU-Africa Summit in Brussels, African and European Heads of State and Government adopted the Roadmap 2014-2017. It focuses the implementation of the Joint Strategy on 5 priority areas: 

  1. Peace and security
  2. Democracy, good governance and human rights
  3. Human development
  4. Sustainable and inclusive development and growth and continental integration;
  5. Global and emerging issues.

Moreover, it was agreed to increase synergies between the political dialogue and cooperation as well as to promote contributions from the private sector and civil society.

The implementation of the actions included in the Roadmap will be assessed in the framework of joint annual forums, which gather all stakeholders of the Africa-EU Partnership. 

Initially, the First Action Plan (2008-2010) and the Second Action Plan (2011-2013) of the Joint Africa-EU Strategy had focused on 8 priority areas of cooperation:

  1. Peace and security;
  2. Democratic governance and human rights;
  3. Regional economic integration, trade and infrastructure;
  4. Millennium Development Goals;
  5. Climate change;
  6. Energy;
  7. Migration, mobility and employment;
  8. Science, information society and space.
The number of priority areas of the Africa-EU strategy has been narrowed down to 5 priority areas with the purpose to follow a more focused agenda.